Redefining Recruitment to Retention

Award Winners Announced at the 2019 AAPPR Annual Conference

The Association for Advancing Physician and Provider Recruitment announced the recipients of the 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award and the 2018 Volunteer of the Year Awards during the 2019 Annual Conference in Orlando, Florida on April 9, 2019.

Lifetime Achievement Award

The Lifetime Achievement Award is the most prestigious award a health care recruitment professional can receive in the industry. The purpose of this award is to recognize and honor an AAPPR member for a distinguished career and significant contributions made to the field of physician and provider recruitment.

Judy Brown, FASPR, received the 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award. Judy serves as Manager of Physician and APC Recruitment & Credentialing at Emergency Physicians Professional Association (EPPA). Often Judy is sought out by new members who seek guidance. Without pause, she brings folks under her wing and provides mentorship as they start in the profession. For 30 years as a Physician Recruitment Specialist, she has participated in a wide range of recruitment activities and settings and has used those experiences to help others. It’s a vital part of her nature to help others and to find those teachable moments. Judy became a member of AAPPR in 1997 and has served the Association in a myriad of ways. Because education is a passion of hers, she is a long-standing member of the Education Committee, providing insights into the learning needs of our members.

Volunteer of the Year

The Volunteer of the Year Award recognizes a member or members for their contributions to the organization made as a volunteer during the past 12 months.

Allen Kram, FASPR, received the honor of Volunteer of the Year. Allen Working behind the scenes, and making things happen is his method of operation. Allen has been a committed volunteer to AAPPR for many years. However, this year, he contributed time that goes above and beyond the typical volunteer. He provided tireless support, guidance, and leadership to the Vendor Relations Committee. He also interacted with key vendors, setting the stage for our interactions with our strategic partners. Beyond his committee involvement, he took personal time to participate in setting the strategic direction for the organization, in no small measure by contributing his wisdom, perspective, and indomitable humor to the Strategic Development Group and Board Development Committee. Allen is a courageous leader, challenging the organization to be thoughtful in decision making and to provide other perspectives. Whenever called upon, he is willing to step up in any capacity.

Donna Eclestone, FASPR, received the second honor of Volunteer of the Year. Donna has shared her time and talents generously as a very active and engaged member and leader of AAPPR. Donna was at the table when the Shared Interest Groups AIR launched, serving as its inaugural president, and was instrumental in developing OAR, serving as inaugural vice president – sharing her experience and insight not only with AAPPR but beyond. Recently, her employer acknowledged the tenth anniversary of her achievement in innovating a nationally acclaimed model and was quoted, “if you want something done right, you get Donna involved.” Donna has served AAPPR on several committees since she joined the organization in 2005 including benchmarking, fellowship, fellowship faculty, ethics, and now, education. Donna also served on the board of directors for 7 years in the capacity of secretary. She is as passionate about her profession as she is about her commitment to AAPPR remaining engaged and always ensuring the new face at the table is welcomed and networked.

The Association for Advancing Physician and Provider Recruitment can’t thank these individuals enough for all that they’ve done for the association.